About NOSM Academics Research Communities


More News

NOSM Partners with Thunder Bay Charities to Offer Free Sessions About Planned Giving


At a media conference held in Thunder Bay on September 29, the Community Giving Group, comprised of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM), Confederation College, St. Joseph's Foundation, Thunder Bay Community Foundation and Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Foundation, introduced the first two of several free public information sessions on planned giving. The sessions provided attendees with guidance about how to leave legacy gifts that benefit the donor, the donor's family, and the community at large. The free sessions are part of an ongoing collaborative campaign, "Your Will is a Gift."

Four New Members Appointed to NOSM Board of Directors


The Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) held its Annual Members and Board of Directors meetings on Wednesday, September 24, 2014. These meetings were video-conferenced between Lakehead University in Thunder Bay and Laurentian University in Sudbury, with other members participating via tele- and web-conference. Board members Kevin Cleghorn and Dr. Kathryn Gibson were thanked for their significant contribution to the Northern Ontario School of Medicine, as their terms completed September 24, 2014. At the recommendation of the Board’s Governance Committee and Nominations and Community Relations Subcommittee, the Board appointed four new members to NOSM’s Board of Directors: Ken Boschoff, Pierre Dumas, Krista Marcotte, and Gary Boissoneau. In accordance with Board policy regarding Officers of the Corporation, Dr. Brian J.R. Stevenson, President of Lakehead University, was confirmed as Chair of the Board and Dr. Robert Kerr, Vice President, Academic and Provost of Laurentian University, was confirmed as Vice-Chair.

September 25 is Franco-Ontarian Day!

FrancoOntarian Web Photo

September 25 of each year is Franco-Ontarian Day! Adopted in 2010, this day officially recognizes the contribution of Ontario's Francophone community to the cultural, historical, social, economic, and political life of the province. September 25 is the anniversary of the first raising of the Franco-Ontarian Flag. The creators of this emblem representing Ontario’s Francophone culture are Gaetan Gervais, at that time, a young history professor at Laurentian University and a group of Franco-Ontarian students among them, Yves Tasse, Donald Obonsawin and Michel Dupuis. In 1977, the provincial ACFO (French Canadian Association of Ontario) adopted the flag with its ”fleur-de-lis” and trillium as its emblem. The two floral images are set on a white and green background, with the white symbolizing our winters and the green for our summers.

NOSM Researcher Participating in $55.5M National Dementia Initiative

Dr. Kristen Jacklin, NOSM Associate Professor

On Wednesday, September 10, 2014, the Honourable Rona Ambrose, Federal Minister of Health, announced the launch of the Canadian Consortium on Neurodegeneration in Aging (CCNA), a national initiative aimed at tackling the growing onset of dementia and related illnesses and improving the lives of Canadians with these illnesses and their families and caregivers. Kristen Jacklin, NOSM Associate Professor, Medical Anthropology, is one of 47 principal investigators on the CCNA who will be receiving $1 million for dementia care research. Jacklin and her team will investigate issues in dementia care for rural and Indigenous populations.


NOSM Facebook NOSM Twitter NOSM YouTube
NOSM SP Button
Giving to NOSM
Health Sciences Library